Here is a summary of foreclosure laws and rules for the State of South Carolina:
South Carolina foreclosure law requires lenders to use mortgages and judicial foreclosure.
Foreclosure begins with filing of lis pendens in court.
The borrower must be personally served within 20 days and has 30 days to respond.
No right of redemption is permitted in South Carolina.
A deficiency is allowed if the appraised value of the property is less than the amount owed on the loan, after subtracting the sale proceeds.
Much more information is available throughout this website, but for definitive advice ask a a South Carolina lawyer.
Learn how to fight your lender in court--read Foreclosure Defense Secrets written by a former bank foreclosure attorney. It's a guide written for homeowners by the "other side"--the lender. Click here to learn more.
If you are interested in reading the actual statutes relevant to mortgage and foreclosure in South Carolina those laws are available online.